My Mother

My mother,

She gave me life, she gives me life

She was there when I breathed my first

She bore me

Through the pain

The nausea

The loss of appetite

She’s always there

Through everything

She gave me life, she gives me life

She cared for me, she cares for me

She kept me warm

She cried when I was ill

And got worried when I won’t eat

She caught me when I fell

Trying to take my first steps

She rocked me to sleep

And gently nudged me awake

To go take a pee

So I won’t wet the bed

She taught me to brush my teeth

And how to bathe myself`

She cared for me, she cares for me

She fed me, she feeds me

I bit her when I suckled

She didn’t hold it against me

She fed me till I could eat

All on my own

She went hungry

So I wouldn’t

She bought me my favourite candy

So I’d stop bawling

She made sure every Christmas

I ate till I weighed a ton

She fed me, she feeds me.

She gave me love, she gives me love

She walked me to class on my first day

I ran into her arms every day after school

She picked me up and wiped the phlegm

She complained about what a mess I was

And cleaned me up anyway

She laughed even when my jokes weren’t funny

And listened even when I was making no sense

She gave me love, she gives me love

She loved me, she loves me

She listened to me drone on and on

About that boy I thought was cute

And smiled a knowing smile

When I spoke about my first crush

She told me what to do

When that boy told me he liked me

I’m all grown up now

Or at least I think I am

But I’ll always be

Mummy’s little girl

And in my eyes

She’d always be the superhero

Who knows all the answers to my questions

And always knows just how much pepper

To  put in my food

I’ll never be able to aptly thank her

For all she does for me

Doesn’t mean I don’t try

I know she’s fiercely proud of me.

I hope that pride never fades.

the.verve_

Leave a Reply

